Scholarships – Awards


The VEHA Scholarship is currently funded at $500.00, and is to be awarded to an eligible student, undergraduate or graduate, who is enrolled at a college or university in an Environmental Health program.  The scholarship winner(s) are awarded each year at the VEHA Annual Spring Educational Conference.


Certificate of Merit

Each affiliate is invited to designate one of its members or a team of members to receive a Certificate of Merit from NEHA, thereby nationally recognizing one or a group of their own for outstanding contributions to the profession of environmental health. Recipients are recognized during NEHA’s Annual Education Conference awards program and in the Journal of Environmental Health. To nominate an individual or a team, please email Rachel Stradling.  Nominations must be received by June 1, 2017.

Environmental Health Professional of the Year

The nominee for the Environmental Health (EH) Professional of the Year award must be an EH Professional currently engaged in the practice of Environmental Health who has made outstanding contributions to the EH Profession, and the EH Programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  Nominees must be current VEHA members and should exemplify the values, quality of work, and ethical integrity held in high regard by the EH profession.  Sponsors who make the nomination must also be current VEHA members.  This award is presented each year at VEHA’s Fall Educational Conference.  To nominate a deserving EH Professional, submit your nomination form by September 30, 2017.  EH Professional of the Year Nomination Form

Congratulations to Tom Saxton for winning the 2016 Environmental Health Professional of the Year Award!  Tom, an Environmental Health Specialist with the Virginia Department of Health, was nominated by multiple coworkers and colleagues for his dedication to VDH’s onsite program and his support and enthusiasm for sharing his vast knowledge in soil evaluation.

A. Clark Slaymaker Award

A.Clark Slaymaker was a Virginia Department of Health employee from 1943 to 1970.  He ended his career as the EH Manager (then called Chief Sanitarian) in Alexandria, Virginia.  In 1966 he won NEHA’s prestigious Walter S. Mangold award, the ONLY VDH employee ever to do so.  The nominee for the A. Clark Slaymaker award must be an individual (not an environmental health specialist), association, corporation, or organization not actively engaged in the field of Environmental Health but through related activities has made outstanding contributions to the Environmental Health Profession and the Environmental Health Programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The individual or individuals who sponsor the nominee must be current members of VEHA.  The A. Clark Slaymaker Award is presented each year at VEHA’s Fall Educational Conference.  The deadline for nomination is September 30, 2017.  A. Clarke Slaymaker Award Nomination Form

VEHA’s 2016 selection for the A. Clarke Slaymaker Award was Dr. Julia Murphy who is a Veterinarian II with the Office of Epidemiology in VDH.  Dr. Murphy was nominated by Reed Cranford and Eric Myers, two of the many environmental health staff across Virginia who rely greatly on her support, knowledge, and expertise in the rabies field.  She is the public health professional that most EH staff will reach out to first for guidance when handling a difficult and complex rabies investigation.  Her warm, patient, and even humorous personality helps to put people at ease even when dealing with sensitive and challenging issues.  As with many other aspects of public health, it would be impossible to list all the human lives and domestic animals that have been protected through her work.